an ode to my summer

This summer literally flew past me, I feel like it was just last week i was starting out as a nanny (and scared out of my mind)
While I’m glad it wasn’t an endless summer that dragged on with no end, there was ups and downs.
I thought I’d do a review of all that happened and what’s to come. 🙂

I got a ‘job’ as a nanny, moved to the city, and lived in a completely new environment
By day I took care of a two year old boy and by night I was free to roam the city
I was independant and did many things alone,
but also spent time with friends and visited family on weekends.
I earned a paycheck; which quickly disapeared with the ubundance of shopping this city has to offer
I tried bikram yoga for a week and loved it (though too strenuous for my current health)
I drank a lot of iced-coffee
I channelled my inner yogi and practiced at great studios and at home (to save money)
I nomed on some fabuous eats, challenged myself with fear-foods, and ended up losing weight (not proud of at all )
I had time to blog! Reading new & old fav’s, and connect with all of you lovelies. ❤
I spent the summer in a marvelous city, and overall it was a good experience that I am pleased with.
I am ready for what’s next though; University here I come. ( I am aware of how cheezy that sounds )


images from weheartit

Has summer come to an end for you? What was the best part?

 

12 thoughts on “an ode to my summer

  1. First – I didn’t have a vacation. Second – it is going to be hot around here at least until October. No beginning and no end. My life is weird 🙂 .

    Good luck with the university! Have a great start of your freshman year!

    • What do you mean no beginning no end? LIke as to summer?
      Thanks for the luck, I will need it!
      So, you’re taking a semester or a whole year in japan?

      • Yes, I meant the summer. For me the beginning is the first day of my summer vacation and the end is around September when it usually gets too cold for going to the beach. Here I have no summer vacation and the temperature won’t be too low for the beach probably until the middle of October 🙂 .
        I am taking at least 2 years in Japan as a research student and this is the worst case scenario if they don’t accept me as a PhD student. If they do, I will stay for about 5 years.

  2. Summer holidays don’t finish until October for me (when term starts again) but have homework and pre-reading to do. Autumn is my favourite time of year and although it’s still a few weeks off, I’m excited! 🙂

    September is going to be so exciting for you!

  3. Looks like this was a summer of learning 🙂
    You took on responsibility by nannying, and faced several challenges by living in a new city, trying new food etc – be proud of yourself 🙂

    Yes, you lost weight, which is not positive, but what is positive is that you want to change this! Maybe this summer helped you realize that life is what you truely wants, that it ain’t as bas ED portrays it. That is a valuable experience in itself and in the future you must hold on to the beautiful memories from this summer and view them as a reminder of what your goal is – freedom, joy and just…life.

    We’ll get through this semester together, Laura. I’m allways here if you are feeling anxious, need someone to talk to etc 🙂

    So glad to have you in my life precious ^^

    • Thank-you Hedda!
      I really needed to read this, after a hard day. Thanks for always being there. Im more than happy your in my life as well 🙂

  4. Sounds like it was an eventful summer vacation for you, Laura! And I am very glad about the good things you were able to do 😉
    University, here you come indeed!
    Have the time of your life!

Leave a Reply

