The Happiness Project

by Gretchin Rubin,

You’ve heard of it right?
I read this book last february when in hospital,
I thought a lot about how I could change my life in just the little simplest ways,
But, time went by and I went on living without truly finding that happiness that everyone seems to be so desperately searching for.

I know it’s a little early, and I’m not usually one for the whole new years resolutions,
But one thing I do want to start implementing into my life are these;
8 simple truths.

pre-truths: always start the day off right,with oats and coffee.

First Splendid Truth
To be happier, you have to think about feeling good, feeling bad, and feeling right, in an atmosphere of growth.


Second Splendid Truth

One of the best ways to make yourself happy is to make other people happy; one of the best ways to make other people happy is to be happy yourself.


Third Splendid Truth

The days are long, but the years are short.


Fourth Splendid Truth

You’re not happy unless you think you’re happy.


Fifth Splendid Truth

I can build a happy life only on the foundation of my own nature.


Sixth Splendid Truth

The only person I can change is myself.


Seventh Splendid Truth

Happy people make people happy, but I can’t make someone be happy, and no one else can make me happy.


Eighth Splendid Truth 

Now is now.

Simple enough right?

14 thoughts on “The Happiness Project

    • Paulina; I really enjoyed the book. Gretchin has a good writing voice, if that makes sense. & i could relate to her in many ways. I need to reread it soon to refresh my memory though.

  1. that was so beautifully written and i had to “pin” that wings quote to remind me to take chances and trust in myself. it is so true that we are the captains of our own destiny and the architects of our own happiness!

Leave a Reply

