Yoga competition is not really a competition

What a fantastic weekend filled with sweaty yogis. Oh the love of Bikram. Where would I be without it?
Probably incredibly miserable, hopeless, lifeless… lets not even go there.
Over the long weekend I spent time in the city of Calgary, Alberta.
Sheesh, that city had a lot of highways, suburbs, and construction. The downtown area and Elbow River is very nice, but the rest of the city not so much, in my opinion. Makes me grateful to live in beautiful BC.

Anyhow, the Western Canadian Hatha Yoga Asana Championship –whatamouthful-Β  was absolutely wonderful!
This is the only picture I have right now but hopefully ill find more people posting on fb that I can snatch. Such a great experience. I wasn’t even that nervous. Doing what you love and spreading the joy is such a rush.

6 thoughts on “Yoga competition is not really a competition

  1. So proud of you Laura. For enjoying yourself, for doing something that makes YOU happy and for having the energy to love life ❀ This post truly inspires me and is true to your blog name!

  2. Hey Laura! I found your blog through mutual blogs, and just at the perfect post! I’ve heard about yoga competitions and they seem SO interesting! I would love to hear more about it. I have been doing yoga for almost 5 years and my flexibility and strength has definitely grown. A few months ago I got offered an opportunity like this, but never really took it seriously because I want to attend college/focus on school yadadadda. But this looks awesome!

    • Hey Cara, thanks for the interest. Yoga is a huge part of my life so lots of my posts I will share some parts of it πŸ™‚
      Right now my main practice is Bikram yoga, which is hatha yoga practiced in a hot room (110 degrees). The competition entails a routine of 7 postures from the series. Let me know if you have any specific questions I’d love to answer them!

Leave a Reply

